Febrary 10, 2017

I sent this to good ol’ Mitch along with a copy of Coretta Scott King’s indictment of Jeff Sessions’ nomination to be a federal judge in 1986.

February 10, 2017

317 Russell Senate Office Building

Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Senator McConnell,

The wife of our country’s most esteemed civil rights activist stood against Jeff Sessions twenty years ago, but a few days ago, you wouldn’t. You chose instead to silence a female Senator speaking out in protest against his appointment. You chose not to listen to her declamation of the letter, so I have enclosed the text for your perusal.

You, sir, again place yourself on the wrong side of history. You will be ashamed of your actions one day, as will your children and grandchildren, and as am I.

I decided to try a triple-barreled approach today. I called the White House Comment line (202-456-1111) to register my concern over Trump’s actions against transgender student protections. I also wrote a postcard with a short version of my talking points and then a letter with a  more fleshed-out treatment of the arguments.

 

Leave a Reply

